Organisational Structure of the Department

The administrative set up of the Department consists of three level viz., The Secretariat or the Administrative Level, The Directorate Level and the District Level.

Administratively, the Urban Affairs Department is under the charge of a Principal Secretary/Commissioner and Secretary and is assisted by a Joint Secretary and other officials.

At the Directorate Level, the Department functions under the charge of the Director who is assisted by the Joint Directors and other officials who co-ordinates all the developmental functions of the Department at the State Level.

At the District Level, there are Offices of District Urban Planner and Executive Engineer located at District Headquarter viz., Shillong, Tura and Jowai. While the primary function of the District Urban Planners are preparation of Master Plans and Development Plans, the Executive Engineers are required to execute them. The other District Headquarters viz., Williamnagar, Nongstoin, Nongpoh and Baghmara, which are smaller and emerging, have offices of the rank of Assistant Engineers. With the creation of the new District Headquarter viz. North Garo Hills, South West Garo Hills, South West Khasi Hills and East Jaintia Hills, the district offices will be under the rank of Assistant Engineers and his staff which has already been created and sanctioned by the Government. These offices have started functioning.

Besides these, there are 4 (four) other organizations under the administrative control of the Department. One of them is the Meghalaya Urban Development Authority whose functions is to enforce and implement the Master Plan prepared by the Department, issue building permissions, enforces development control regulations etc. The Meghalaya Urban Development Agency which is the nodal organization for coordinating and monitoring of urban poverty alleviation and slum improvement programmes. State Investment Project Management and Implementation Unit (S.I.P.M.I.U.) which is the nodal agency for implementation of ADB Project assisted North Eastern Region Capital Cities Development Investment Program (N.E.R.C.C.D.I.P.) and the New Shillong Township Development Agency (N.S.T.D.A.) which was established for the purpose of development of New Shillong Town.